Book Review – #Iam16ICanRape by Kirtida Gautam

I usually do not read the genre of #Iam16ICanRape falls in, being a fantasy and horror buff myself. But I thought I would give this a read.
Yes, I was a little skeptical whether I should start reading such genres, but this book made me want to explore the variety of books out there that I usually wouldn’t read.
This book is about the prevalent rape culture in this country. Unfortunate that such a culture even exists. But what can you expect out of a patriarchal society that has grown so much that it starts treating women like chattel? We put faith in so much of our epics. Mahabharata, for instance. Wasn’t Mahabharata a story where the shameful disrobing of Draupadi was used to put forth what the woman want to say? Don’t anybody know what happened after that? A war. Bloodshed.
When either gender aspires to be above the other, the balance of nature is torn apart. The male and the female needs to be on the same level as each other. Or according to the terminologies used by Kirtida Gautam, the Yin and the Yang.
This book is a bold take on the rape culture that seems to be growing in India. Very unfortunate, but a fact. This story is also dedicated to the Nirbhaya incident that took place a few years ago — an unpardonable, sinful act for which the person needs to be punished. Juvenile or adult, it does not matter.

I particularly suggest that you see the trailer before you decide to read it.

You can buy #IAm16ICanRape herehere, and here..

BLURB:

To destroy great EVIL, GOOD has to shed tears of blood.

Rudransh Kashyap is a self-made billionaire and man of high moral fiber. His life is shattered when he returns home one day to find that his prodigy, his 16-year-old grandson, Aarush, has been arrested and accused of a brutal gang rape. It is easy to say, “Kill the Rapist” but what if the accused is your child?

This case takes an unprecedented turn when Aarush’s identity is made public on social media. Rudransh finds himself living a nightmare as he fights against tremendous odds to get justice for Aarush, to save him and to bring him back home… But what if the unthinkable is true? Can Rudransh save his grandson, or will he end up fighting a different battle altogether?

Here’s my review:

WRITING: 3/5

Kirtida is an excellent storyteller, but I do not know why: her writing seems to me to be a little bland. It can drag at places, making a reader want to put the book off. However, I still managed to read it, even though it was more tell than show. Oh, she is a good writer, but she could be better. The writing comes off as amateurish and even though I applaud her for her efforts to convey a literary topic through a simple and eloquent language, I still felt that she could have delivered more on the writing front. The editing and proofreading has been brilliant though.

CHARACTERS: 4.5/5

Kirtida’s strength lies in the development of characters. I especially liked the characters of Subhangi Tyagi, Aarush, and Rudransh. Even Piku is an adorable character. Kirtida has explored the psychological angles revolving Aarush’s mental state effectively. Subhangi is indeed a dedication to the gruesome Nirbhaya incident.

All of her characters are well-developed and Kirtida, as an author, excels in this.

STORY: 4/5

The author crafts a story and its narrative can ensconce you in. The twists and turns, the characters and the actions they take, that’s what made me want to read the story despite its amateurish writing. Yes, it is indeed a long book and I did feel that it could have been shorter. Add to it, there are sermons of psychology which the average reader will find boring. But all in all, I love the story line. It is a very ambitious effort.

VERDICT: 3.5/5

It is a good read. I suggest other readers to take up the book.Ambitious effort from an author who debuted with this book.

AUTHOR BIO:

Kirtida is a clinical psychologist turned screenplay writer who completed her education from the Film and Television Institute of India (FTII), Pune, India. Her passion for psychology and writing inspired her into writing psychological thrillers. While the readers are reading this introduction, the next thriller is in the making…

STALK KIRTIDA GAUTAM HERE:

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/Kirtida-Gautam-888954667861462

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Kirtida_Gautam

Website: http://www.kirtidagautam.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14016223.Kirtida_Gautam

Blog: http://kirtidagautam.blogspot.com/

3 thoughts on “Book Review – #Iam16ICanRape by Kirtida Gautam

  1. Hello,

    I saw your ebook. From the synopsis it looks like a high quality ebook. If you are looking for some real promotion and exposure for your book (including book reviews, spotlights, book downloads and purchases), I have a few offers for you. My book promotion packages are extremely affordable and can be customized to your book. Email me at pluxedo AT gmail.com if you are interested in screenshots and samples. (I DO NOT check messages here, email me for fast response)

    In addition, I can also create professional author trailers as well as video testimonials for your book. I can also help you build a website for your book if you don’t have one already, help you write your book blurb and back cover matter, etc.

    I also offer proofreading and writing services. Contact me for details

    You can also contact me through my website:
    http://votemyreviews.xyz/contact.html

    I can also create (and maintain) an Instagram account for your author name or book name.

    If you need any other service, let me know.

Leave a Reply

