Daily Prompt: The Other Side Of The Street

I was standing on a footpath of a very busy street. The busy traffic made me unable to get to the other side. Life had come to a standstill. So many problems, so many barricades. Lacking the confidence to move forward, I just stood there watching others pass by and the traffic whistle past. I hardly knew what to do then. I was confused. My path lay before me yet it was clouded at the moment. I was afraid the speeding vehicles would sweep me apart. I was paranoid of my life.

I did not know what to do. Hours passed and I just stood there, looking like a statue. The others who had journeyed with till there had long crossed the street and been on their way. They all had their minds clear on what they were to do with their life. But I, not a clue. My life was on a downhill and I knew I had to somehow sustain it, get it up. I had to get over my fears. They were an impedance to my success.

Day turned darker and I still stood. I knew what I had to do now. Watching others pass by had raised my confidence levels a little bit but yet my feet refused to take a step. Should I? Should I not? These questions raged my mind. Success was just waiting at the other end, only I had to cross the street.

I somehow made my heart stronger and took the first step. My chest heaved and my heart thumped heavily. As I took more steps forward, my fears subsided. Though the traffic was busy, I managed to get across in time. My confidence soared so high that my fears were left far behind from where I came. I had finally reached. The other end of the street.

(Disclaimer: Written For Facebook Group Scribbler’s Ink Writers: https://www.facebook.com/groups/351022088275863/)

Leave a Reply

