A DAILY PROMPT: Pick a classic fairy tale, and set it in your modern-day home town…

It was a cool night. The winds gusted about making a sound that creeped me out. It was weird. Not the time we had our usual storms and there was no news about it. I peered out of the window. The streetlights had gone out and it was dark. I could see nothing. I was about to turn back and go outside when I saw a young boy, dressed in golden yellow, walk lonely in the streets. Weird time to have a fancy dress competition, I thought.

The boy was walking with his arms folded near his chest. He was feeling cold, I could see. Anyone would in this unusual storm. Obviously, since the afternoon was quite hot and the storm had just come out of nowhere.

I pitied the boy and called him in. He smiled as he entered, muttering an inaudible thank you. He sat on the couch. He was a loner, an introvert. Why was he even walking this gruesome night. I tried to enquire about him and his parents when I tripped over a wooden rod and fell, knocking over a jar of sugar which I had placed on the stool opposite the couch. I was drinking coffee a little while before he came and I had forgotten entirely about that jar of sugar.

Something unusual happened when the jar broke open and the sugar crystals began bouncing on the marble floors. The boy immediately knelt down and started picking up the crystals one by one, whispering to himself. At first, I thought he would eat but no, he looked like he was counting it.

At last he finished. 5000 crystals he said out loud. What was he? Why would he count the sugar crystals? He smiled at me and seemed to read what was in my mind. “I am no human. I am a leprechaun.” he said.

I was flabbergasted then. Leprechauns! Straight out of the fairy tales my grandmother used to tell me. I remembered them. That is why he was counting the sugar crystals. Leprechauns usually had to sit down and count if sugar or salt was to fall on the floor.

“Leprechaun” I said once again and fell down on the couch, still looking at him as if he was telling a lie.

(Disclaimer: Written For Facebook Group Scribbler’s Ink Writers: https://www.facebook.com/groups/351022088275863/)

Leave a Reply

